Contact Us at VPFW

Henrico • West Creek • St. Francis • Midlothian • St. Mary's

804.897.2100

Prince George • Colonial Heights

804.520.0205

Toll Free

800.421.3368

 


Jessica M. Ciaburri, D.O.

Dr. Ciaburri, is originally from Bluefield, a small town in southwestern Virginia. She then spent over ten years in Blacksburg, VA (Go Hokies!) where she completed her undergraduate degree in Nursing and attended Osteopathic Medical School at VCOM. During her clinical work in medical school, she fell in love with the field of Obstetrics and Gynecology. She then moved to Richmond to complete her residency training. She and her husband, a physician training in the field of Radiology, are thrilled to be putting down roots here in Richmond. Dr. Ciaburri is interested in all aspects of Obstetrics and Gynecology including low intervention childbirth, vaginal birth after cesarean, and minimally invasive surgery.



 
 

Qualifications

 

Offices
Colonial Heights/Prince George
St. Francis-Centerpointe Bldg.

Special Professional Interests
Working with underserved populations, low and high-risk obstetrics, low intervention birth, international and local medical missions, basic infertility evaluation and management, vaginal surgery, minimally invasive surgery

Hospital Privileges
St. Francis Medical Center

College
Radford University, Summa Cum Laude
Degree:  Bachelor of Science in Nursing

Medical School
Edward Via Virginia College of Osteopathic Medicine
Blacksburg, VA
Degree: Doctor of Osteopathic Medicine

Obstetrics and Gynecology Residency
Medical College of Virginia
Virginia Commonwealth University School of Medicine

 



 

Professional Affiliations and Credentials
BLS, ACLS, and NRP certified
Centering Pregnancy Program Provider
Junior Fellow of the American College of Obstetrics and Gynecology
COMLEX Steps I, II, and III
USMLE Steps I and II

Publications and Research

  • Ciaburri, J. Abdominal pain and vaginal bleeding in a 24-year-old woman. Chapter 29. Acute Care and Emergency Gynecology: A case-based approach. Editor Chelmow, D. Issacs, C. Carroll, A.  (2015)
  • Ability to Provide Postpartum Long-active Reversible Contraception: A Quality Improvement Project
    Resident Research Project, Retrospective Chart Review (2012)


 

Find out more about Dr. Ciaburri

 

What are some of your favorite things about living in Richmond?
I love living near the James River, it is such a beautiful centerpiece for our city.  The South of the James Farmers Market is my favorite place to be on a Saturday morning.  So many fun festivals, good food, wonderful excuses to meet up with friends and enjoy the outdoors.

What do you do for fun?
Relax with my husband and friends. My husband and I love going to the movies and try to sneak away to Busch Gardens to ride the roller coasters at least a few times each year

What is 1 think you never leave home without?
Cellphone

How do your patients describe you?
Easy to talk to, kind, light-hearted

Why did you choose to practice medicine, and/or your field?
I always thought of healthcare as a dynamic and challenging field where you get the opportunity to make a difference in the lives of others each day. As a Registered Nurse, I loved my job, but found myself longing to be able to do more for my patients. As an ER nurse I missed continuity of care.

When I helped deliver a baby for the first time as a medical student I was hooked on Obstetrics. There is nothing like helping to welcome sweet babies into the world. And now as an OB/GYN I get that continuity I was missing as I walk along side my patients throughout the many facets of their lives assisting them to stay healthy.

When you are craving a snack what do you reach for?
Fruit, so it depends on the season, red raspberries, peaches and watermelon are my favorites

Which women’s health issue(s) are you particularly passionate about?Prevention of chronic disease through healthy lifestyle and screening.  Helping women control their reproductive health with the wide variety of contraceptive choices available

Name something on your “bucket” list.
Learn to scuba dive
Take an Airstream RV across the United States

What inspires you?
People who are strong in difficult circumstances, I had the opportunity to spend a month working in Kenya in 2014 and the women I took care of there were inspiring. They were joyful and hopeful despite very tough situations they were facing.



 

What hobby/activity do you most enjoy, and why?
I like to make beaded jewelry, earrings mostly. It’s a good way to be creative and I enjoy giving my earrings as gifts. It is the most fun to see others wearing them and enjoying them.

If you could add 1 hour to you day, what would you do with it?
Take my pup (a black lab named Bryn) on a nice long walk and/or call my family

What music is on your playlist right now?
I’m usually pretty mellow when it comes to my musical selection. Some of my favorites are Iron and Wine, Mumford and Sons, Stephen Kellogg, and Death Cab for Cutie. I also love classic country music and bluegrass; I grew up listening to Johnny Cash and Merle Haggard, it reminds me of my Dad.

What was your first job, and how old were you at the time?
I was a Salesperson at Belk Department store in the juniors and lingerie department. I was sixteen years old.

What is your favorite movie or TV show?
Gladiator or Forrest Gump, numerous Netflix and HBO series

Do you have a personal or professional motto? If so, what is it?
Always do the best that you can, be honest and have fun at what you do

What was your favorite subject in school?
Chemistry and Art, I love to paint, but I’m no artist

If you hadn’t become a doctor, what profession would you have chosen?
I was a Registered Nurse prior to going to medical school, so I would have to say I would be a nurse. From my nursing education and practice I learned to advocate for my patients and teach them about their health. This really shapes my approach to patient care as a physician.

What would you like to learn more about?
Different cultures, decorating, gardening/landscaping

What’s your favorite thing to eat in a restaurant?
Chips and Salsa, bread with olive oil and spices, tostones at Kuba Kuba, I think the appetizers are my favorite part of the meal

Share 3 words to describe yourself
Easy going, fun, empathetic