Contact Us at VPFW

Henrico • West Creek • St. Francis • Midlothian • St. Mary's

804.897.2100

Prince George • Colonial Heights

804.520.0205

Toll Free

800.421.3368

 


Cara Golish Hartle, D.O., F.A.C.O.G.

Dr. Hartle grew up in Johnstown, Pennsylvania, just outside of Pittsburgh. Born and raised a Steelers fan, she picked up her terrible towel and moved to Fort Lauderdale and Nashville to complete her training in Ob/Gyn. She is now excited to be living closer to family in Richmond with her new husband, who is starting his career in Nephrology. She is interested in all aspects of Women’s Health, but has special interests in adolescent medicine, laparoscopic surgery, and international medical missions.

Dr. Hartle has extensive experience with operative deliveries and robotic procedures. An avid runner and marathoner, she is interested in global health and completed medical work in Ecuador, Haiti, Dominican Republic, and Ghana.

Dr. Cara Hartle was recently quoted in an article in the Richmond Times Dispatch about the use of nitrous oxide in deliveries at St. Mary’s Hospital. She discusses how a woman would be able to self-administer nitrous oxide to herself during labor so that she could basically have a “natural” delivery. There are other hospitals around the country which offer this during labor, but St. Mary’s is the first in this area.



 
 

Qualifications

 

Offices
Henrico Doctors Hospital Professional Building
West Creek Medical Park
St. Mary’s Hospital Medical Office Building-South

Hospital Privileges
St. Mary’s Hospital
Henrico Doctor’s Hospital

College
University of Pittsburgh
Degree: B.S. Occupational Therapy

Medical School
Nova Southeastern University
Degree: D.O.

Residency
Vanderbilt University Medical Center
Obstetrics and Gynecology



 

Memberships / Societies
American College of Gynecologists and Obstetricians
American Medical Association
American Society for Colposcopy and Cervical Pathology (ASCCP)



 

Find out more about Dr. Golish

 

What are you most looking forward to about living here?
I can’t wait to live in the same city as my younger sister again! My sister and her husband have lived here in Richmond for the past four years and seem to love it. I look forward to all of the outdoor activities and events that are happening here in the city.

What do you do for fun?
I am a runner and participate in a lot of different races. I would like to get involved with a running club within the city. I spend as much time as I can outside biking, hiking, running, etc. Hoping to get a kayak for the James River.

What 1 thing do you never leave home without?
An extra pair of running shoes in the car, my water bottle, and chapstick.

How do your patients describe you?
They describe me as easy to talk to, motivating, and fun. Many of them have told me that they actually enjoy coming to the Ob/Gyn when they’re coming to see me.

Why did you choose to practice medicine, and/or your field?
I have always had the desire to help others and encourage them to take care of their bodies and want to be healthy. I chose Ob/Gyn for the care of women, who I have always felt more of a connection with. What we talk about with our patients can be very private and nerve racking. Making them comfortable in the conversation is something that I strive to do.

When you’re craving a snack, what do you reach for?
A banana or almonds

Which women’s health issue(s) are you particularly passionate about, and why?
I am passionate about the care of adolescents in gynecology. I feel that in the adolescent period, young women are the most influential and also at a somewhat trying and awkward point in their life. Helping them learn how to protect their own bodies and make decisions that will affect their lives is so important to me.

Name something on your “bucket” list.
Maybe one day I will participate in an Ironman triathalon.

What inspires you?
My family. Every day they make me want to become a better person.



 

What hobby/activity do you most enjoy, and why?
Running (I feel like I talk about that a lot). It gives you the chance to either spend some relaxation time by yourself and clear your mind. Or it gives you a chance to get together with your friends and talk for hours while your legs are moving.

If you could add 1 hour to your day, what would you do with it?
I would just sit and read a novel. Or maybe spend a little bit more time cooking.

What music is on your playlist right now?
A combination of country, alternative rock, and some good dance music!

What was your first job, and how old were you at the time?
I worked as a babysitter for two boys in my neighborhood for their summer vacation. I was 13.

What’s your favorite movie or TV show?
I love watching House Hunters on HGTV.

Do you have a personal or professional motto? If so, what is it?
Work hard, play harder.

What was your favorite subject in school?
Any type of science.

If you hadn’t become a doctor, what profession would you have chosen?
I always thought about becoming an architect or an interior designer.

What would you like to learn more about?
I would like to learn more about politics and international relationships. I would also like to learn more about other cultures/countries in general.

What’s your favorite thing to eat in a restaurant?
I love a good burger and fries.

Share 3 words to describe yourself.
Loving, active, and sarcastic.